This guide will demonstrate how to add new users and manage their permissions within Site Search.
Site Search accounts have four different permission levels, which are listed in the table below.
|Owner||One user is the owner of the account. The owner can do everything, including change billing details. Only one user can be the owner. If you need to change owners, please read the section on changing ownership.|
|Admin||Users with the admin role can edit documents, manipulate search results, create and destroy Engines, and invite users to the account. However, admins cannot change billing details.|
|Editor||Users with the editor role can edit documents and manipulate search results, but cannot create or destroy Engines or invite new users to the account.|
|Viewer||Users with the viewer role have access to the Site Search dashboard and can receive email reports, but they cannot edit documents or manipulate search results.|
If you need to change the owner of an account, the existing owner must email our support team to make the request.
For security, we must have email verification from the existing owner to change ownership.
If the owner is no longer part of the team, then the team will need to reclaim access to that email address so that ownership can be verified and then changed.
Adding and Managing Users
When you create an account, you are considered the owner. As the owner, you have full access into everything contained within Site Search -- including the ability to add more team members to your account.
Within the top right of the dashboard, click on My Account. From there, select Settings...
Within Settings, there is a sub-navigation menu that contains: General, Team, and Billing & Usage.
Click on Team.
If you have not already done so, you will be prompted to name your account. This will help your team members identify the account.
With a named account, you can then add users by clicking the Invite A Team member button:
Each new team member must be added via email.
Provide an email and the role you would like to associate with the new team member.
After that, click Invite User:
All invitations will appear within the Team menu. You can resend or revoke emails if need be. If someone is having trouble receiving their email, perhaps it is being caught by an aggressive spam filter? Check there!
Once an invitation has been accepted, you can edit the user to change their role, or remove them from the account:
With this, you can add and remove users and scope their access however you see fit.